The Four Temperaments

02 Nov 2012


1 Esplanade Drive

Conductor: Okko Kamu

Piano: Zhang Haochen

HINDEMITH                     Concert Music for Strings & Brass, Op. 50 (17’)
RACHMANINOV      Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18 (33’)
NIELSEN                Symphony No. 2, Op. 16 ‘The Four Temperaments’ (32’)
“A pianist with ample reserves of power whose imagination seems nonetheless most kindled by subtle delicacy” — Boston Globe

Gold Medallist and First Prize Winner of the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in 2009, Zhang Haochen, joins the SSO in Rachmaninov’s most popular piano concerto – a popularity owing, undoubtedly, to its abundance of memorable melodies. It was while drinking beer in New Zealand that Nielsen was inspired to write his Second Symphony: on the wall was a comic picture depicting “The Temperaments”, and “one fine day I realized that these shoddy pictures still contained a kind of core or idea and – just think! – even a musical undercurrent!”

Pricing:$15*, $22*, $32*, $42, $58, $72

*Concessions for students, NSFs and senior citizens: 30% off standard ticket