The Sun Yat Sen Nanyang Memorial Hall (SYSNMH) is a two-storey colonial-style villa located in the Balestier area. The building was originally used by Dr Sun Yat Sen as the headquarters for the Singapore branch of the Chinese Revolutionary Alliance in their mission to oust the Qing Dynasty in China between 1906 and 1911. After the 1911 revolution, the ownership of the property shifted several times - first to a group of Chinese businessmen, among those was the philanthropist Lee Kong Chian; it was then used as a communications base by the Japanese during World War II; and finally it was handed over to the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry, to be renovated and preserved as a historical site.
Nationally recognised as a monument on 28th October 1994, the villa is a landmark to acknowledge the contributions of overseas Chinese to the revolution that took place in China. It also represents the inspiration of Dr Sun's ethics and principles, and in changing Singapore's perspective from being a part of the British colony.
The villa today presents itself as a museum to commemorate Dr Sun's revolutionary ideals and successes. It houses a collection of paintings and calligraphy works by top Singaporean and Chinese artists such as Liu Kang, Rev Song Nian, Ong Kim Seng and Tan Swie Hian; as well as a multitude of bronze statues and sculptures of Dr Sun and those who martyred alongside him in their struggle. Visitors are also treated to a showcase of photographs and artifacts as well as audio-visual displays that chronicles Dr Sun's story and successes in Southeast Asia.
The revamped museum reopens on the 8th October 2011 to honour the 100th anniversary of the 1911 Chinese Revolutions.
The video below, from 2:20 onwards, explains further the early history of the villa, and briefly on the life of Dr Sun Yat Sen.